Skip to content

The United States, as a democratic republic, is governed by a complex system known as the separation of powers, a system that aims to prevent the consolidation of power and promote balance within government. This system is divided into three branches: the legislative, the executive, and the judicial. Each branch has distinct roles, responsibilities, and ways of interaction.